What Language do they speak in India?

India has 22 official languages

Hindi and English are the two main languages used by the central government.

All these languages also have different scripts. That means they use a different alphabet altogether.

The most commonly spoken languages in various regions include Hindi, Bengali, Malyalam, Telugu, Tamil, Marathi and Urdu.

Most Indians speak at least 2 to 3 languages and they can write various scripts.

People from the South mainly speak either one of these languages: Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, and Kannada. They don't speak Hindi and won't understand most northern languages.

Many people in the Northern states speak Hindi, even though their regions have their own language. I.e. Punjabi, Gujerati, Maipuri, Odia, Konkani.

One of the oldest languages in India is Sanskrit. It's at least 3500 years old.

Many more languages exist in India. Together with dialects and tribal languages, India can count more than 100 languages.